top of page
  • Writer's pictureLiezel Estanislao

Actual Teaching Phase 1: The Teaching Plan

After days of observation, it's now time to be involved in the actual teaching stage. Before fully engaging to it, teachers like us should have the lesson properly planned, ensuring that it fits on the curriculum offered by the educational institution and the most important thing to remember is that the lesson will let the learners grasp new understanding.


Class 3/1

I am assigned to teach the Prathom 3 (3rd grade) learners and I am also given the task and the opportunity to teach Prathom 4 learners.

The lessons in these levels focus on the five macro skills ( Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking and Viewing). To be specific, learners in these level should understand simple terms or sentences, communicate to people using basic English (example following order/request and asking questions given in English), practicing their pronunciation and comprehension through short stories or paragraphs and write simple English words and spell them correctly.


Reference books (P3 and P4)

Using the curriculum as a guide and the reference materials given as a basis, I wrote my lesson plan for the classes with the time allotment of 50 minutes. My cooperating teacher and the other English teachers in the school told me that I should ensure that they are given more activities because that's how they easily learn and that I should not move to the next topic unless the children fully learn the lesson. In creating the lesson plan, I used the detailed format of lesson planning. I followed their advice and also through the help of the observation time given, I included activities and games in the lesson which will really help them to learn and improve in English ( spelling relay, listening games, reading drills etc.). Instructional materials also play a big role in the discussion, I prepared a power point presentation (with audio clips to practice their pronunciation of words) , a dvd (for listening and viewing practices) and also cut-outs of the topic and words to be discussed in the lesson.



3rd Grade Discussion, "Animals at the Zoo" slides

Motivation plays an important role in the discussion, as what I observed, the learners in the class are fond of dancing and singing. I use simple educational English songs which include some basic dance moves to warm them up before I teach the class.


Everything is set! What I only need to do is to be ready to face the class.

79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SUMMARY AND SUGGESTIONS

Purpose of Practicum The first time I heard the announcement from our College Dean about the internship for SEAMEO, it really caught my attention and my interest to be a part of it. At first, I am ner

bottom of page